12 Competing Members and Alternates to Represent the United States of America in France this May

San Juan Capistrano, Calif. – April 7, 2008 – Surfing America, the national governing body for surfing in the USA, is excited to announce the 12 competing junior athletes and alternates named to the USA Surf Team travel squad following a week-long national training camp in Huntington Beach.

“The USA Surf Team program is the best its ever been,” said Mike Gerard, Surfing America executive director and ISA vice president. “This year’s Team has amassed an incredible amount of intense, high quality training under Head Coach Joey Buran. And they’re more than a Team. They are a tightly knit, extremely focused, assemblance of the finest young surfing athletes in the United States today. Surfing America is truly putting its best foot forward and we anticipate some solid results in France.”

Six months of training and evaluation under the instruction of Coach Buran culminated to a final show down for the spots on the competition roster. Buran began with a training squad of 34 of the nation’s best junior surfers and precisely selected his athletes over the course of four training camps.

“I believe that this is an excellent team to represent the United States in international competition,” said Buran. “All of these team members are outstanding surfers, but more importantly have proven themselves to be hard workers and team players. Not only do they rip, they carry themselves with character, class, and dignity in representing our great country. I’m proud of every one of them and I look forward to leading them in the ISA World Junior Games.”

Upon completion of last week’s final selection process, Coach Buran named Malibu’s Dillon Perillo as the team captain and South Bay’s Dane Zaun as co-captain.

The following athletes, listed by division, and in order of seed, will travel to France to compete in the 2008 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in Hossegor, France from May 24 – June 1.

Under 18 Boys
Nat Young
Dillon Perillo
Dane Zaun
Chase Wilson
1st Alternate: Quinn McCrystal

Under 16 Boys
Andrew Doheny
Conner Coffin
Kolohe Andino
Luke Davis
1st Alternate: Nathan Carvalho

Under 18 Girls
Courtney Conlogue
Sage Erickson
Amy Nicholl
Demi Boelsterli
1st Alternate: Kaleigh Gilchrist

Additional alternates include Chase Brady, Taylor Thorne, Sara Taylor, and Keenan Lineback.

Buran will immediately begin honing the skills and improving the heat strategies of the competition team in preparation to take on upwards of 30 countries at the ISA World Juniors. Be sure to keep up with the team’s progress at

About Surfing America, Inc.
Surfing America is the ISA-recognized National Governing Body for Surfing in the United States. The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, Bodyboarding, and Surfriding.

Surfing America is the IRS recognized 501(c) 3 charitable organization responsible for selecting and fielding the official USA Surf Team. All donations made to Surfing America are tax deductible to the fullest extent allowed by the law.

Surfing America Mission Statement

The Mission of Surfing America is to promote the growth, competitive success, and positive image of surfing in the USA and to provide the best possible experience for all participants by encouraging, developing, advancing, and administrating the sport–while producing champions.